Thursday, October 30, 2008

Nominations Now Open for 45th Georgia Author of the Year Awards

The oldest literary competition in the Southeast, the Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA), announced this year's call for nominations. All Georgia-resident authors with books published in 2008 are eligible to enter the 45th Annual GAYA competition. Categories include First Novel, Fiction, Poetry, Creative Non-Fiction, Children's and Young Adult literature. Nominations will close January 15, 2009.

A complete list of guidelines and nomination forms are available online at should be mailed to the Georgia Writers Association, 1000 Chastain Road, Mail Stop #2701, Kennesaw, GA 30144. Any questions should be directed to Lisa Russell at (770) 420-4736, or Originally established by the Dixie Council of Writers Association, the GAYA is currently overseen by the Georgia Writers Association (GWA), a statewide literary organization sponsored by Kennesaw State University under the executive directorship of Dr. Ralph T. Wilson. Nominations are judged by prominent authors from across the country, with submissions evaluated for their narrative quality, creativity, enduring message, and ability to evoke emotion. The awards have grown in scope since their inception, with categories revised to reflect changes in current genre and publishing methods. Previous years have yielded nearly 100 nominations, and the hope is the same for the 45th year. "We had very high-quality submissions last year, and we look forward to seeing the same this year," says Dr. Ralph T. Wilson, Executive Director of the Georgia Writers Association. "Part of our mission in sponsoring the GAYAs is to illustrate just how diverse and important the literature produced by Georgia writers is."

This year's winners will be recognized at an awards dinner and ceremony in June 2009. Nominees and award winners from the 44th Annual GAYA competition can be viewed online at
Fayette Front Page
Community News You Can Use
Fayetteville, Peachtree City, Tyrone

No comments: